revenue, was 10 p.c. as against 8 p.c. in 1947 and 10 p.c. in 1946. These figures are based on reports obtained by the Department of Transport from 109 stations in 1948, 108 stations in 1947, and 88 stations in 1946. Thus, the average net profit per station was \$12,516 in 1948, \$8,597 in 1947 and \$11,228 in 1946. Of the 109 stations reporting in 1948, 79 showed an aggregate surplus and the remainder an aggregate loss. While no official compilations have been prepared since that time, unofficial estimates indicate that the 1953 position was relatively the same in terms of percentages.

Administration.—The non-government stations operate under the Canadian Broadcasting Act which is administered by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, and under regulations made by the CBC, in addition to the Radio Act which is administered by the Department of Transport, and regulations made thereunder by that Department. Proof-of-performance statements showing that public service obligations have been fulfilled, together with financial statements, must be filed annually with the CBC in the former instance and the Department of Transport in the latter. Regulations limit the amount of advertising that may be carried in any spot announcement or program and the number of announcements that may be carried in any given period of time. Program schedules must be approved in advance by the CBC and food, drug and medicine continuity must be approved by the Department of National Health and Welfare.

Licences of the privately owned stations, valid for three years, are granted by the Government of Canada upon recommendation of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. The Royal Commission on National Development in the Arts, Letters and Sciences recommended that the period be increased to five years and this recommendation is currently under review by Government authorities. The sale or transfer of any stock or shares held in any broadcasting station must be approved by the Government of Canada.

Network Operations.—Network operation in Canada is at present restricted to the CBC in both AM and television fields. The CBC also has sole right, except in the case of four stations, to bring in commercial and other network programs from the United States. Many privately owned stations, however, serve as outlets—either basic or supplementary—for CBC network programs. On occasion, all stations are required to carry CBC or other programs.

Television.—At the end of October 1953, there were nine non-government television stations licensed in Canada, located at: Regina, Sask.; Windsor, London, Sudbury and Hamilton, Ont.; Rimouski and Quebec City, Que.; Saint John, N.B.; and Sydney, N.S. The same terms of licence and regulations applying to AM broadcasting apply also to telecasting, with the additional requirement that the television licensee must carry a minimum of 10½ hours weekly of CBC-produced material. Government policy permits the licensing of one non-government station in any area in Canada other than Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Vancouver, Winnipeg and Halifax, these areas being reserved exclusively for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. On Mar. 30, 1953, the Government announced in the House of Commons that consideration was being given to licensing of two or more non-government stations in any area in Canada, including those areas presently reserved for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.